There’s Seeing and There’s Seeing

3584650342_de1db668f9_b

I saw Kimberly limping at work today.  I invited her to draw close to me so I could speak to her quietly.  I told her I believed prayer changes things.  I then asked her if I could pray for her.  She believed and said yes.  I asked her where the pain was.  I asked her to put her hand on the spot. I put me hand on her’s.  I prayed and commanded all to be made well.  I then asked her how it felt.  She said it really felt better.  “Good, praise God,” I said.

Earlier today, I read the scriptures from the Daily Office, a story about David and one about Jesus.

When they came, he looked on Eliab and thought, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is now before the Lord.” But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for the Lord does not see as mortals see; they look on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” – 1 Samuel 16: 6, 7

And they went and woke him up, saying, “Lord, save us! We are perishing!” And he said to them, “Why are you afraid, you of little faith?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a dead calm. – Matthew 8: 25, 26

Samuel looked for the Lord’s anointed to replace King Saul, and by virtue of what he saw, he judged and believed God’s choice was before him.  The Lord told him he doesn’t see as humans see.  Yahweh can see the heart and determine who is his choice.

The disciples experienced a storm and determined they were about to perish.  They woke him.  Jesus then asked them why they were afraid and of little faith?  He saw something they didn’t see, a calm and peaceful lake.

I don’t want to see as humans see.  I want to see as God sees.  I saw discomfort and an opportunity for the Lord to bring about wholeness and for me to partner with the Lord in bringing healing.

Sometimes we pretend not to see.  Sometimes we look and believe its not our place to invoke change in the name of Jesus.  Sometimes we’re seeing accurately, and we’re seeing what God sees.

I thank you, great God, for eyes that see and compassion to prompt change in this suffering world.  Amen.  Alleluia.

Leave a Reply

