A Return to the New?

8113182261_61caff4d10_k

O sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord, all the earth.  Sing to the Lord, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. – Psalm 96: 1, 2

Several years ago, a phrase from scripture continued to appear or I repeatedly heard.  I was told it must be a rhema word for me.  I should pay attention to it.  The phrase was, “Sing to the Lord a new song.”  I was on leave of absence from ministry.  I wasn’t all that sure I’d return to formal Christian ministry as a calling, let alone a career.  I began to believe and subsequently realize the Lord was communicating to me.  I should prepare myself to sing a new song.  Within months, I was.

Psalm 96 touches a soft place in my heart.  Still I think the Lord speaks to me in the phrase either as a reminder or as a revelation to my spirit that something new will be uttered, so be encouraged.

In addition to Psalm 96, I read a portion of Leviticus 25 as part of the daily readings in the Daily Office.  The year of jubilee is described.  One verse caught me.

In this year of jubilee you shall return, every one of you, to your property. – Leviticus 25: 13

I’ve been told in the Hebrew calendar this is a year of jubilee.  Historically, it was to be a year of the cancellation of debt and the liberation of the enslaved.  Every one of you shall return to your property.

Verse 13 caught me because we know this year is a leap year.  My wife and I believe this is to be the year of our leaping.  This year will project us into our destiny in God, I have little doubt.  In this year of jubilee, we shall return?  Return and sing a new song?

I can’t say I know to what we may return.  Perhaps, it’ll be a return to ministry, a return to locations that relate to our promised destiny in God.  Upon returning, there’ll be new songs to sing and declare, and with it, new revelations for a new day.

I encourage you to embrace the hope found in a year where a new song could be in the air for you and your destiny in God.

Steadfast love and faithfulness cover us.  Alleluia.

Leave a Reply

