Come Along, Please

14505174483_3826336314_k

Lately, I’ve prayed consistently for the Lord’s grace and mercy to cover me and my environment while at work.  I’ve been blessed by the subsequent subtle manifestations of such grace and mercy.  I’ve known peace and joy while I’ve accomplished more than ever in a shorter amount of time.  I’ve also been blessed by the words of praise and encouragement of my co-workers.  I’ve known his presence.

Today, the Old Testament lesson in the Daily Office was from Exodus 33.

 “Go up to a land flowing with milk and honey; but I will not go up among you, or I would consume you on the way, for you are a stiff-necked people.” . . . And (Moses) said to (the Lord), “If your presence will not go, do not carry us up from here.  For how shall it be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people, unless you go with us? In this way, we shall be distinct, I and your people, from every people on the face of the earth.”  The Lord said to Moses, “I will do the very thing that you have asked; for you have found favor in my sight, and I know you by name.” – Exodus 33: 3, 15-17

Moses told Yahweh if he didn’t come along with them into the Promised Land, they shouldn’t leave where they were.  How will the world know they’d found favor with the Lord if he didn’t come along?  They should be a distinct people blessed by the Lord’s presence.

One of my co-workers has missed a lot of work recently. She was with her family because her father-in-law was ill.  She was at work today.  She was tired and shared with me it looked like her father-in-law had prostate cancer.

After a while, she was near me in the storage area.  I had prayed for her earlier and said to the Lord he’d given me mercy and grace, and I wanted to share what I’d received.  As she was in my presence, I asked to hold her hand.  I told her I had compassion for her and her family in this difficult time.  God was not the source of sickness, but he was with them in the midst of the pain and uncertainty.  She could be sure of that.

She shared with me amidst her tears a lot of what they feared and felt as individuals and as a family.  I listened and affirmed they were in his hand, and she didn’t need to be the caretaker of all their emotions, pain and fear.  Her shoulders weren’t that broad, but God had broad shoulders.  We both shed tears and felt his presence.

His presence has made a difference for me at work lately.  His grace and mercy has made all the difference.  Today was a day to give away what I knew I had.  If his presence wasn’t with me, I couldn’t give anything that mattered, but he came along with me to work and to the storage area.  Alleluia.

Steadfast love and faithfulness cover us.

Leave a Reply

