Full & Satisfied

12993501_10208746610798713_2433779902575545810_n

April and I joined much of our extended family in the celebration of my mother-in-law’s birthday yesterday.  The meal we shared was a low country boil which was right up my alley, and it wasn’t my birthday.  I left the meal quite full and satisfied.

Interestingly, I found scriptures in the Daily Office this morning that referred to food and satisfaction.

O God, you are my God, I seek you, my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.  Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.  So I will bless you as long as I live; I will lift up my hands and call on your name.  My soul is satisfied as with a rich feast, and my mouth praises you with joyful lips – Psalm 63: 1-5

The psalmist David thirsts for the Lord in his seeking after him.  He then gives testimony of encountering the Lord in the sanctuary.  Alleluia.  He affirms the love of God being better than life, praises in word and expression, and declares his satisfaction in his soul like he’s full after a feast.  Wonderful.  From thirst to unbuttoning his trousers because he’s so full of God.  So cool.

I then read of the feeding of the five thousand in Mark 6.

Taking the five loaves and the two fish, he looked up to heaven, and blessed and broke the loaves, and gave them to his disciples to set before the people; and he divided the two fish among them all.  And all ate and were filledand they took up twelve baskets full of broken pieces and of the fish.  Those who had eaten the loaves numbered five thousand men. – Mark 6: 41-44

God wants us full of him, but first he puts a thirst and hunger in us to pursue him.  So many seek to satisfy such hunger with entertainment, shallow relationships, distractions of forms and fashions.  Coupled with terrible experiences with the spirit of religion that shamed and condemned instead blessing and giving life.  It is only our good Father that satisfies.

We’re satisfied by encountering a good Daddy that blesses us first with love and the light of truth – truth that doesn’t condemn and shame, but reveals a savior who bore our sins and carried our transgressions.  He was condemned in our place.  We then in the faith communicate to our new brothers and sisters our own stories of how good our Daddy is.  What then begins to happen is a thirst and hunger begins to grow to know and encounter more of this God that so loves us he’d die in our place and fill us with himself.

Yes, its good to be thirsty and hungry for you will be filled.  Amen.  Alleluia.

Steadfast love and faithfulness cover us.

Leave a Reply

