How Fast or Slow?

image

Do not forsake me, O Lord!  O my God, be not far from me!  Make haste to help me, O Lord, my salvation! – Psalm 38: 21-22

Yesterday, after work, I got into my car to leave. It wouldn’t start. It hesitated. It was a problem with the battery. I lifted the hood and saw the calcium deposits on the battery terminals. I called my wife and asked if she could come and give me a jump. I brushed the deposits off as much as I could.  It ended up starting without a jump.

In trying to start the car, the speedometer needle bounced back and forth. As I was driving home I noticed the needle had jumped over the pin on which it would rest when the engine is off. This meant I couldn’t determine my speed.

The psalmist prayed today the Lord would make haste to help. On my way home, I couldn’t tell how fast I drove. 

Maybe I’m not supposed to focus on how fast or slow things are moving around me.  Maybe I’m not supposed to judge how fast or slow God is acting on our behalf.

I read about Jesus’ baptism in Matthew today.

John would have prevented him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?”  But Jesus answered him, “Let it be so now, for thus it is fitting for us to fulfill all righteousness.” Then he consented. – Matthew 3: 14-15

Jesus tells John, “Let it be so now.” He says this in regard to being baptized and to act on what is the standing revelation of God in the world in John’s world – prepare for what is coming.  “Let it be so now,” Jesus said.

God’s timing is not ours. When God says now is the time, no one can say this like God. 

Try to take your eyes off of the speed and simply trust God knows best when and how he chooses.  Alleluia.

Steadfast love and faithfulness cover us.

Leave a Reply

