Strength

4171031982_3bbf548148_b

I found a couple verses that spoke to me this afternoon after work.  There’s a thread that unites them, and its the strength of the Lord in us.

The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts . . .  Psalm 28: 7a

May you be made strong with all the strength that comes from his glorious power, and may you be prepared to endure everything with patience, while joyfully giving thanks to the Father . . .   Colossians 1: 11, 12a

I sat with my laptop in, of course, my lap.  Why write today?  Why say or write anything?  Why is it so important?

I then looked at Facebook after supper.  A friend of mine posted two slides with quotes that I liked and, surprisingly, threaded into the scripture.

First, there was a quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you’ll be criticized anyway.  I feel in my heart writing is the right thing to do.

Second, a quote from Salman Rushdie, Fundamentalism isn’t about religion.  Its about power.   Today, I feel strength is synonymous with power.  I just want to connect with the power/strength imagery, not the political implications.  The spirit of religion in rampant fundamentalism wants power.

The scriptures today reveal the true source of power and strength in creation.  Its God.  By virtue of our relationship, he is our strength, he is our shield.  God’s strength makes us strong and prepares us to endure.

Simply said, the Lord is my strength and shield.  Glorious power in God makes me strong to live and endure.  This is the right thing to share and write.

 

Leave a Reply

