Your Strength Is What Matters

7074438567_a1ecda7237_k

My employment, these days, requires a considerable amount of strength.  I’ve never been physically capable of lifting or manipulating much.  I attribute a lot of this to genetics.  I don’t come from genetic reservoirs where physical strength was a dominant characteristic, and I’m fine with that.

I read some verses this morning regarding strength and how to think about such an attribute.

Psalm 147: 10-11 reads, His delight is not in the strength of the horse, nor his pleasure in the speed of a runner; but the Lord takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love.

Exodus 13: 3a, 9b expresses this, Moses said to the people, “Remember this day on which you came out of Egypt, out of the house of slavery, because the Lord brought you out from there by strength of hand. . . for with a strong hand the Lord brought you out of Egypt.

Perhaps I’m showing my age, but, again I’ve never been physically strong, so Psalm 147 always blesses me.  I’m accomplishing things at work with grit and determination, but there are stronger and faster workers.  These verses bring me encouragement because I don’t have to focus on my inability.  I can focus on what my Lord and my God can and has done.  Alleluia.

Great Daddy God, it thrills me you take pleasure in us who hope in your steadfast love, and not in the strength and speed measurable in this world.  Your strength is what matters, not mine.  My strength is fleeting.  Your strength is stronger than death.  My focus is not on what I accomplish but on what and who you are in me by virtue of what you’ve done.  You’ve done it all by the strength that’s eternal.  Amen.  Alleluia.

Leave a Reply

