Grace & More Grace

20094858439_3f64ed550b_k

We are recipients of grace and more grace (John 1: 16), and today, we celebrate this more than any other day!

Easter is the day when our faith is centered on the work and grace of God that prove to be stronger than death.  If you haven’t caught on yet, I’m going to write more about the goodness of God than about the eccentricities of life.  God has eccentricities, but they’re grounded in grace.  Alleluia.

Yesterday was interesting.  I got called early from work.  They wanted me to come in Easter afternoon and evening.  I had asked off Sunday, but, after talking with April, I agreed to go in.  As soon as I sent the text, I regretted it.  I sighed, grew frustrated and then angry.  I said out loud I was sick of retail.  It’s time for this relationship to end.

I was not happy, and I felt I had the right to feel that way.  I carried that to April’s aunt’s church for a cookout and egg hunt.  They invited us.  I painted a smile on my face and tried to relax.  We watched the unfolding of the egg hunt and church picnic.  It was fun, and we were so glad we weren’t in charge.  We led this kind of efforts in the past.  That was in the past.  Alleluia.

After arriving, we settled in with family and began eating a terrific cookout.  After relaxing, it dawned me I’m blessed.  I walked down the steps at the church leading from the fellowship hall to the yard.  The last step looked like the sidewalk and not like the bricks in the other steps.  When I reached the last step I then stepped down thinking I was already on the ground.  I wasn’t.  I could have easily stumbled and lost my plate, but I didn’t.  This was a blessing.

The church gave away door prizes in the form of gift cards to local restaurants.  I won a card to Red Lobster.  The pastor handed me the card and said, “That’s a blessing to you.” Blessing, indeed.

With working today, I’ll receive extra pay we hadn’t planned.  Again, blessing.

April leaned toward me near the close of the cookout and said, “This is our year of favor.”

Last night, April and I worshiped.  I read Romans 8.  God spoke to me.

So that the just requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. – Romans 8: 4-6

By the Spirit, I voluntarily relaxed into the reality of the Spirit in me, and the grip of the flesh that troubled me earlier eased its grip on me.  I was so thankful and praised the Lord out loud for the peace that came.

There are things the Lord is speaking to us.  This daily posting may not give me the time to record all the Lord is telling us in this daily format.  Anyway, today, I celebrate openly the grace and more grace that is poured upon us this Easter.  Christ is risen.

Maybe I’ll have the time to record more of what the Lord is saying tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

